Stop and Smell the Daisies

A picture I took while at the botanical gardens. They reminded me to be happy and focus on myself, and that it was ok to do so.

A picture I took while at the botanical gardens. They reminded me to be happy and focus on myself, and that it was ok to do so.

College isn’t going exactly as I thought it would be. Everyone says there are parties every weekend, you’ll meet the best friends of your life, and professors don’t actually care if you show up to class or not. So far, I haven’t found any of that to be true (ok, I’m sure there are probably parties every weekend, but I find myself doing homework until 10:30 and then watching Netflix until I fall asleep). To be fair, I’ve met some really cool people, but I’m not sure if I could call them “the best friends I’ll ever have”. That title goes to my best friend from home, Jordan. All of my professors include attendance as part of the final grade, and most send around a sign in sheet during the period. Not that I was ever going to ditch class… but I was at least hoping I wouldn’t feel pressured to go because I had to, but I would go strictly because I wanted to. But despite all of that, I have discovered that without effort, many of the aspects of wellness, particularly mental and physical, can go out the window without much thought. That has given me the opportunity to really focus on my wellbeing, especially mental, since that is so important, especially in the first quarter when everyone is transitioning.

I’ve always been a straight A student who hasn’t had to put an exuberant amount of effort The thing I didn’t realize I would cherish the most is the time I get to spend solely with myself. Going to the Denver Botanic Gardens was the first time I had really gotten away to do something other than homework by myself, and it was amazing. After, I felt relaxed and less worried about everything I had to do in the upcoming week. It let me center myself and focus on the beauty around me instead of the piles of homework I had to constantly finish. I’ve also realized that I don’t spend nearly enough time outside just enjoying myself without a care or a worry, so it was really great to be able to that for a couple hours. It was much needed and much appreciated by me and my mental state.

I tend to put my mental wellbeing on the back burner a lot of the time, but I’m realizing to be happy and healthy, I need to take breaks from the busy world around me and just find the joy in nature around me. It’s relaxing and revitalizing, and it helped me to find myself again in the insanity that is college.

Written by Julie Campbell, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

