Find Your True Identity

Hey guys, sorry I haven’t posted on my blog in awhile. Things have been super crazy since I got here in D town on South Halls Floor 3. I swear every half hour of my day is planned out to do something, even if that something is just homework, which I never finish on a given night. However, this consistent cluster of paper commodities on my desk and heaps of happenings occurring in the social groups around me has been a phenomenal experience. I am an extrovert. It’s not that I constantly need to go to parties and surround myself with new people and reluctant acquaintances, I just really love people, and most importantly, being there for them in times of need.

Earlier in the summer, I was having a discussion with some of my closest friends about our identities. Not our earthly identities as an athlete, the tall kid, the short kid, the fat kid, the future doctor or engineer, the drop out, the hippy, or the nerd. We were confabulating about who we really are. Our identities in the bigger picture. Our identities outside this world. Our identities in Christ.

I’ve always identified as an athlete. I did a lot of sports in high school. I was good at them, and they gave me a sense of accomplishment and self worth. Coming to DU, however, I’ve lost this identity. I’ve been struggling to find something that leaves me with that euphoric satisfaction from winning a game in double over time, or finally qualifying for the state track meet with a new PR, knowing that all the shitty practices and shitty workouts and shitty sore muscles were worth it. Fortunately, this new environment is filled with extravagant distractions, bodacious personalities, and pulchritudinous backgrounds. This campus has opened my eyes to such a variety of perspectives I never encountered back home. The most noteworthy of these is the concept that not everyone lives the way I do. I’m not afraid to admit that I was raised in a shell. I grew up around a particular (square) type of people and was exposed to little variety of culture or beliefs. However, over these past weeks, a great deal of people have approached me seeking advice, seeking help on homework, or just seeking someone to talk to. I’ve found such a lust for conversing with people, but more importantly, listening to them when they need it the most. By constantly placing myself in new, even uncomfortable situations with new people and new understandings, I started to love listening to others’ stories, problems and whatever else they needed to vent. I’ve grown to love being there for people, and I’ve discovered my place because of it. I’m a listener. I honestly don’t have the slightest clue what to do with this information, but I know I’m on the right track. I know it’ll help me discover my purpose in life and, eventually, give me that euphoric high of self worth. I hope I continue to grow in my journey to fulfill that identity, and I challenge you to do the same. Find what you love in life and use it to change the world for the better, even if that world is just South Halls Floor 3.

Untitled

Written By Jacob Cody, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

