Nature’s Opulence

UntitledSitting in solitude,

I ponder the qualms of ever-changing life.

The leaves of pine remain

But the leaves of others fall.

The leaves that fall are beautiful for an instant,

But soon die and decay.

The leaves of pine remain beautiful

Alive on the tree year round

Never dying- yet always the same.

Blissfully ignorant of their demise,

The leaves of trees change themselves,

Finding joy in such change before falling.

Nature runs its course, keeping the world beautiful

Before the bleak starkness of Winter comes

And sucks away all life.

Cold is its agenda,

A cold that sends all creatures to hide in peace,

Or suffer its calm yet fatal Wrath.

The Earth is alive,

Always the common perpetrator of fate.

I wrote this poem on our Wellness retreat, and was extremely happy to have a chance to finally be able to engage in a bit of creative writing. I’m going to classify this poem as emotional wellness, because it allowed me to ponder the intricacies of nature while relaying some of my inner feelings about the alone time we got, and also to appreciate nature.

Writing is something that calms me. Like working out, it’s a stress relief. I always feel relaxed, I allow my mind to wander. This leaves me free-spirited, willing to free my mind to anything that may come into it at any moment. I allow myself just to relax and enjoy my surroundings. This poem was written in a time of deep relaxation, almost a meditation. I just sat and appreciated nature, and I don’t think I’ve felt more relaxed in a long time.

This relates to my emotional wellness because the week before the retreat, I was extremely stressed out. I had exams, papers, etc. Basically the commonality of college life. The retreat and this poem really helped me center myself. I simply allowed myself to relax and not worry about the day-to-day college woes. I was with me, and only myself. There was nobody else around, nobody I could get in contact with, and it was the best experience I’ve had in a long while. This poem reflects that experience in a deeper sense. I became aware of all the life around me. I started thinking of how the earth changes- just like how my life changes drastically from year to year. It interested me to think of this change, and made me feel like everything was going to be okay.

Written by Brenna Flynn, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

