Alone

Untitled

Part 1:

I am all alone

As a fire needs to run

It runs through my bones


It burns through my home

But begs me to come

And I am all alone


I’ve been throwing stones

But now I have none

It runs through my bones


And it is unknown

That I am done

And I am all alone


This head full of foam

Busy and stunned

It runs through my bones


My body is adorned

With casings of a gun

I am all alone

Because it runs through my bones.

Untitled

Part 2:

I am not alone

The voice of a friend calls

And you are my home


Your voice is all I’ve known

As I trip and fall

I am not alone


I’ve been strong as stone

Thrown against a wall

Because you are my home


And thought I’ve had bones

Break like a doll

I am not alone


I deny the throne

That sits down this hall

Because you are my home


As with you I have flown

I not longer feel so small

I am not alone

Because you are my home


I feel as though these two poems I wrote represent struggle and then release. The struggle of anger, frustration, and feeling alone and without help, and then the answer of friendship and help. Both of which cycles are necessary to grow and learn, but the latter cycle being the most necessary one to survive, grow, learn, and be fulfilled. Destructive fire versus flying freedom.

Written by Athena Wilkinson, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

