Ask me Questions

A poem by Laura Anderson, WLLC 2015-2016

Ask me questions.

I don’t have the answers,

but we can explore them together.

I am still searching,

Just as we are all searching;

For some meaning,

Something to get us through this week,

This year

This life.

Ask me questions.

I don’t have the answers,

But you really only need one answer.

God,

Jesus,

Yahweh;

It doesn’t matter what you call Him.

He is our light, our hope, our strength.

There is no question we can answer without Him.

What happens when we die?

What is Heaven? What is Hell?

I couldn’t tell you,

Even the prophets in the bible

couldn’t properly tell you.

They say the streets are made of gold,

But what is gold,

but a metal we have given value?

We can only know as much as our brains,

Our society, our culture has taught us.

That’s why we must have faith.


Stop.

Ask Him the questions.

Sit for a moment and feel His presence all around you,

A constant and never-ending embrace

From the Father that will never leave you,

Never hurt you,

Never forsake you.

Scream His name in times of anger,

Or whisper it quietly in times of sorrow.

Why are we here? What is the point?

Ask Him through the trees.

He will answer you with the sound of their leaves

rustling in the wind of His breath.

Ask Him through the ocean,

And hear Him whisper to you

With each wave that crashes.

The key is to listen for His answers.

So ask me questions,

I’d love listen along with you.

Untitled

I thought I would include this as my picture because this is a picture of Jesus that I have always been drawn to (mostly because of the intense love that I see in the eyes). A little girl named Akiane Kramarik, who started painting her visions of God when she was 4 years old, despite the fact that she lived in a faithless household.


I just wanted to follow up this piece by saying thank you for letting me share me faith with you!! This poem was inspired by a lot of things, but mostly by the kindness and openness of those of you who asked me questions about my faith the last night of the retreat. I really wanted to emphasize how much I love when people ask me any and all questions about my faith! I really feel that it helps all of us in the conversation to grow immensely in our spiritual, emotional, and even relational wellness (especially for those like me who are external processors) because we get a chance to see the world through another set of eyes, something that is unfortunately rare in a society that shies away from topics of God and faith. So if any of you want to have a chat about God or my faith or your faith, don’t hesitate to strike up a conversation or just ask a question! I look forward to hearing from you and hope you all have a beautiful and inspired day!

Also, I thought it would be nice to include the songs and scripture that inspired this piece, so you could get a deeper look if you wanted.

Songs:

  • Spotify Playlist: https://open.spotify.com/user/spotify/playlist/6Higf6awk4pfVmjvlaCn7b
  • Good Good Father by Chris Tomlin
  • He is With Us by Love & the Outcome
  • How Sweet the Sound by Citizen Way
  • Cast My Cares by Finding Favor
  • Just Be Held by Casting Crowns
  • Holy Spirit by Francesca Battistelli
  • Who Am I by Casting Crowns
  • Oceans by Hillsong United
  • Revelation Song by Phillips, Craig & Dean
  • Walk By Faith by Jeremy Camp
  • Jesus Paid it All
  • No Man is An Island by Tenth Avenue North
  • Multiplied by NEEDTOBREATHE

Scripture:

  • Jeremiah 33:3
    • “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”
  • Revelation 3:20
    • “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.”
  • Psalm 27:1
    • The Lord is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?”
  • Isaiah 41:10
    • “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
  • Deuteronomy 31:6
    • “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”
  • Revelation 21:21
    • “The twelve gates were twelve pearls, each gate made of a single pearl. The great street of the city was of gold, as pure as transparent glass.”
  • Psalm 18:6
    • “In my distress I called to the Lord;I cried to my God for help.From his temple he heard my voice;my cry came before him, into his ears.”
  • John 10:27-30
    • “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.”
Leave a Reply

