Ironic Therapy

Despite the progress in the treatment of mental illness, the subject itself is still disturbingly taboo.  In 2013, 18.5% of adults in America were diagnosed with a mental illness and approximately 1 of 5 children either currently or at some point in their life had suffered from a seriously debilitating mental illness (http://www.nimh.nih.gov).  These statistics exclude adults and children with undiagnosed mental illness.  Being diagnosed is one of the many steps in the process of treatment and recovery.

However, the most difficult step in my opinion comes after the diagnosis.  The trail and error period of treatment can be brutal.  Finding the right therapist and medications, if one chooses that rout, can be fast and easy for some but take years for others.  Some times it feels like just living with an illness untreated would be easier than dealing with changing medications, unwanted side effects, and faltering hope.  However, I am a fierce advocate for perseverance.  While some illnesses can be treated with a better diet, exercise, and therapy, others are purely a biological misfiring within one’s brain that often is best treated through medication.  I personally believe in “better living through chemistry”.  I wrote this poem about a particular struggle within that space between diagnosis and recovery, a state of limbo that requires a perseverance that rightly deems those living with a mental illness, truly strong people.


You might be wondering why I’ve gathered you all here today

I wonder myself the same thing

You see the exits at either end of the brain

In the event of an earthquake make for that of your nearest selfish escape

I will remain whether you stay or go and then we shall see what can be made from the rubble

At our next meeting I am sure we will have as many new members as we are sure to lose today

Feel not offended if I fail to remember your words my words damaged from induced destruction

I feel the tingle in my veins I see the garden above

Drifting we are drifting we are on our way as the doctor in the spectacles tells us

Soothing and tired confused and submissive but peaceful

I awake shortly after though in truth it’s been hours

See you soon fair thee well until next time but I shan’t be missed

You might be wondering why I’ve gathered you all here today

I wonder myself the same thing

You see the exits at either end of the brain

In the event of an earthquake

I will remain

At our next meet

Feel not

See the garden above

Drifting

But peaceful

Again and again

Till membership expires

PastedGraphic-1[1]

Written by Emma Bacon, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

