Music

Nothing is there for me like music is. I listen to it when I do homework, when I’m walking to class, when I’m hanging out in my room, when I go to sleep, and when I do yoga. One of the things that drew me to teaching yoga is the ability to make a living doing what I love i.e. listening to music, doing yoga, and helping people.

musicI use music to manipulate my emotions all of the time. Depending what the song is about, I might feel a certain way. So when it comes to yoga, I like to play things with more beat and less words. I play a lot of Odesza, Flume and What So Not when I practice. I like it because there and not many words and I don’t want my thoughts contaminated. It’s fun when my breath and the beat sync up. What I listen to when I do yoga mostly remains fairly consistent- one could say my taste in music for yoga is balanced.

Since we have come to college, I have found that what used to be my favorite songs just don’t quite do it for me. I don’t get the same special feelings I used to. One of my theories is that college is changing me and my vibes are changing along with them. Another one of my theories is that I’ve just listened to the same songs too much- I need change. For the first time in my life, I don’t have a current favorite song. I haven’t found my vibes yet. I’m all over the place. I think I’m distracted. There is so much going on. It’s not that my taste is all over the place, but my mood is. I use music to get to know myself and I’ll know when I feel settled when I find the next album I truly adore.

Written by Kat Fusco, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

