Be My Friend?

Social wellness is like a sweater. It warms your heart and holds it tight. This warmth extends to your arms and this allows you to take action, like being there for someone or giving them a hug. These are a couple of the main components of friendships: letting people into your heart and caring enough to protect theirs.

This quarter is coming to an end and it’s a fun time to look back at the social changes that have taken place on our floor. I’d be lying if I didn’t say college was a strange time there for a while. It’s was a balance of trying to reinvent yourself while simultaneously holding on to who you were. Leaving yourself yet not really being any different. They say our environment can determine who we are, and I’d say to an extent this is true, but I don’t feel as though I’m a different person. I wonder if all of you would agree that you feel the same. In a lot of ways, I think starting in a completely new social atmosphere creates a whole new relationship with yourself that has to be stronger than in of the ones you form externally. For me, every awkward hello chipped away at me a little. Every failed attempt at friendship made me feel just a little more inadequate. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, sometimes being an introvert can feel like a curse, but I’m sure many people feel the same, whether introverted or extroverted. But I think an acceptance that I didn’t have to be not me to make friends sunk in. For me, the best friends that I make always seem to come out of nowhere.

College sort of went like this. One day I was hopeless and felt as if I would never relate to anyone again and that no reaction here was easy and eeerrerrrrrrrgggg life is so hard I’m just going to go sit in my room and yep that’s my plan I’m going to sit here forever. And then all of a sudden I was sitting with other people. And they were nice. And that’s the story of how friendship happened. I wish I had a more philosophical response as to how friends work, but I don’t. I guess the only thing I could say to my old worried self is that’s its fine to be the way you are. Every day I meet people on this floor and I feel a little more fulfilled inside. I guess I want to thanks to all of you for that. Every day just gets a little better. And we need you, whoever you are that feels like you don’t fit in. We need every single one of you.

Friendships are nice

They are so great

But making them

Can be so fucking hard

Be my friend

okay

Written by Sarah Thomas, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

