How to Survive Finals

These are my three key tips to survive finals.

  1. Get lots of sleep
  2. Exercise
  3. Relax

Tip #1: Sleep

As a college student this may not be the easiest thing to do especially during finals when everyone is staying up late studying for countless hours. I have learned that getting enough sleep is very important to your mental wellness and can help make the finals week a little bit easier. By staying well rested your mind can concentrate more and will allow you to remember more information for your test. Even taking naps during the day is a helpful way to regain energy after studying for a long time. After getting a good nights sleep I felt much more prepared and ready to take on my finals this weekend. Even though it may seem like a good idea to study all night it is not the most productive way to survive finals.

Untitled.png

Tip #2: Exercise

Maintaining your physical wellness is also an important thing to not forget about during this stressful time in college. It may seem ok push exercising aside but it is important to take care of yourself. Exercising is a great way to reduce stress and take a break from studying. Even if it is for a short period of time like just stretching or going on a walk can be beneficial to your body. I personally enjoyed going on short walks around the DU campus to clear my mind before I went to take any of my tests.

Untitled.png

Tip 3#: Relax

This may seem impossible to accomplish during finals but it is possible and it will help you succeed. Being relaxed clears your mind of all the worried and stressful thoughts racing through your mind about finals. When I feel relaxed before my test I also feel more calm and confident that I can do my best to tackle the many hours of testing. One strategy to feel more relaxed is to close my eyes and take long, slow, deep breaths. It temporarily takes away all my problems and worries and allows me to put all my focus and energy into studying and taking my finals.

Untitled.png

By following these tips anyone can survive the most stressful time in college. These tips are also very useful whenever you are feeling stressed out and not just for finals.

Written by Danielle Nebel, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

