Working Rough Draft

I have finally completed my first quarter of college and I couldn’t be more relieved. Lately I have been asking myself the same question over and over, “ How have you grown these past ten weeks.” I am the kind of person who doesn’t like uncertainty and I am scared of the future. Part of me wants to be “grown up” and to be successful already. I want to know the kind of person I am going to be and most importantly I want to be happy in life.

Coming into college, I thought I had the world figured out. I also thought that I knew exactly who I was as a person. Now I am completely lost and cannot find either of those statements to be true anymore. Being a high stressed person as it is I think it is safe to say that this does not always sit with me so well. However, I have come to realize that it is okay that I do not have it all figured out, no one does. It’s kind of like writing a paper. You write multiple drafts, which are constantly being edited and approved, until you have the sparkly final draft, which you then turn in. The drafts before the final are just as important as the final paper because those are the ones that helped you reach that ultimate final paper. That’s kind how I have started to view my life. I am currently a working draft in progress. This does not mean it is not good, but I am not to the final draft either. I am a working draft filled with wonderful potential, but some things still need a little work here and there. I have accepted that, that is okay. Even the final “perfect” draft probably has a few errors here and there, but we are able to correct those errors and learn from our mistakes.

I would love to be perfect, who wouldn’t, but it is impossible to be perfect. I have grown tremendously these ten weeks learning this lesson. I have failed here at DU, probably more than I have ever failed in my life. Having worked through all this failure has come with some heart ache, however I feel like I am learning more than I ever have about myself. This quarter has made me a stronger person in my emotional wellness and has given me a new perspective on life.

Written by Lexie Karet, WLLC 2015-2016

Leave a Reply

