Grace is Wellness?

Written by Lily Sall, WLLC 2015-2016

Two weeks ago in the final 30 minutes of wellness class, we were handed two readings on grace. While I appreciate the sentiment of the two readings, I had a lot of trouble understanding how this was related to wellness and why we were taking class time to discuss “what grace means to us.” Grace has never been an important concept in my life, and I can’t say these readings brought it to the foreground. “What is grace? I know until you ask me; when you ask me, I do not know,” (Saint Augustine). I have to agree with Saint Augustine, in a sense, because while I do in my mind have a working definition of the word grace, I can’t say that I understand its true meaning.

I have learned that grace, in the biblical definition, is getting something (good treatment, favors, love of Christ) that you don’t deserve. We are supposed to believe that God who created us and is our parent is granting us “grace” just by loving and accepting us. That really just goes against my own spiritual beliefs that we are all one, and we are all connected in love. And to me, my definition of grace is just more technical. “Grace is Effortless – Like falling in love, grace is effortless. Just as floating down a stream is surrendering effortlessly to gravity, grace is surrendering effortlessly to living in harmony with reality,” (Finding Grace in Life). To me, grace has always just meant peaceful, beautiful, elegance.

I suppose the fact that it got me thinking at all is a sign that it might have been worth talking about, since I never really realized that grace had a significant meaning to other people, but I still don’t see how exactly it relates to wellness (it is literally an adjective unless you relate to the religious connotations) or what exactly I was supposed to learn from a collection of quotes about grace, and not even an essay style development of thought.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

