Mind, Body, Emotions, and Soul

Hello fellow wellness lovers,

Have you been keeping secrets from yourself? Even more, have you been disguising inner feelings, concerns, opinions, and desires…pretending that they don’t exist? Whether you answered yes or no to the previous question, for today’s post you’ll be excited to know that I have a challenge for you! In fact, I’m so excited about the possible results of the challenge that I’m challenging myself. Join me and the rest of my wellness class in doing a “Daily Check-In” this week!

“What’s doing a ‘daily check-in’?” you might have asked. Well, first consider the fact that checking in (anyway and anyhow) generally means to make aware of your presence. So think about how checking in with yourself might accentuate your presence. In other words, checking in can make you more self-aware. Checking in with yourself not only helps you to distinguish your individual complexity, but it helps your brain acknowledge your deepest feelings and thoughts!  I usually use the term “body” to define everything that is within me and to describe myself; whether it be my brain, how I’m feeling, or what drives my daily experiences. When in all reality, my body is only a piece of who I am. I have a spirit, a soul, emotions, and a mind (which is connected to my physical body).  And so do you! Each piece works together while, in my opinion, each has its own responsibility. Though I sometimes find these pieces to be tangled within each other, that wasn’t the case during my last wellness class period when a “de-tangling” method was introduced. A method that calls for you to “check-in” with each piece of your being; your mind, body, spirit, and emotions. This brings me to your challenge for the week.

I’m challenging you to write down your daily memories and “check-in” with yourself each day for a week. Each day, “check-in” with your body, mind, emotions, and spirit. Write down in a journal how you’re feeling in regards to each specific area (body, mind, etc.) Also, each day write down a note to yourself in reference to how you’re feeling; write something that you wish you could tell yourself at that moment. Give an example. This portion goes towards your spirit “check-in” as this is a time where you “check-in” with your intuition. This challenge originates from “She Talks” by Sara Avant Stover and is called “Daily Practices to Empower Your Year”. You can find a podcast of the challenge by clicking this link (fast forward to 23:40)

For me personally, this week’s practice is the perfect excuse to “de-tangle” and reveal to myself my most personal/deep thoughts; those things that may be unconsciously existing in the back of my mind or consciously existing yet ignored. According to “The Health Benefits of Journaling”, “There is increasing evidence to support the notion that journaling has a positive impact on physical well-being.” I’m learning firsthand how relieving a daily check-in can be… Make sure you reply to this post at the end of week and check-in with me on how your daily check-in experience went!

Until next time,

T. Ashley, WLLC 2015-2016


 

Sources

Stover, Sara A. “Daily Practices to Empower Your Year.” Podcast Chart. Sara Avant Stover & The Way of the Happy Woman, Web. 21 Jan. 2016. <http://www.podcastchart.com/podcasts/she-talks/episodes/daily-practices-to-empower-your-year&gt;.

Purcell, M. (2013). The Health Benefits of Journaling. Psych Central. Retrieved on January 20, 2016, from http://psychcentral.com/lib/the-health-benefits-of-journaling/

Leave a Reply

