The Beauty of Balance

Written by Sophia Elek, WLLC 2015-2016

During Thursday’s class, we received a reading called Finding Grace in Life, which went into detail about different moments of grace people experience. There were a lot of beautiful ways people experience grace and most of them I had never thought about. Grace is Connection was one of the options that stood out to me because I have never thought about grace being “ realization that you are connected (immersed) in perfect relationship with the ultimate source of existence.” (artofgrace.org) Connectedness was not my favorite example of grace solely because it connected me with a higher power, and as of right now I do not believe in a higher power. However, I was able to admire the example and was able to see how other people have grace in connecting to the ultimate existence.

The example, which resonated with me the most, was Grace is Balance: “When you are in balance, you are in grace. This balance is dynamic equilibrium rather than a steady state. Often, this balance seems a paradox: joy and sorrow, fear and love, give and take, dark and light, yin and yang.” (artofgrace.org) I full heartedly believe that personally I am incapable to living when life is in shambles. I need balance: a solid divide of school, fun, being outside, being with people, being alone, and sleep. When I have too much of one or two, a feeling grows in the pit of my stomach and I start to feel uneasy. However, when I have experience the perfect amount of each, I sleep well at night and am able to avoid the uneasy feeling.

It isn’t easy finding a perfect balance in the world I live. Normally I must settle for almost perfect. However, this past weekend I hit a perfect balance, covering all of my needs. I was fortunate enough to spend the weekend nestled away in the mountains with friends. Friends and mountains covered the being outdoors and being with friends need. The fact that I was able to do some homework in the midst of adventuring eased my school needs. I didn’t realize that things in my life were in balance until I had a few moments of alone time.

I was standing on top of a hill, toes freezing, looking out into the vast world. Surrounded by the mountains and watching my friends sled down the hill at the same time, I caught myself smiling. The natural smile was when I realized how things were equal in my life, I had just enough of everything to be content.

Leave a Reply

