Incorporating Grace and Gratitude

Witten by Summer Graham, WLLC 2015-2016

This quarter I have been trying to work on being more graceful and thankful for what I have. I tend to get in very negative mindsets and I know that it doesn’t help me. I realize that I am very thankful for my family. I’ve always been thankful for them but now they have been helping me through hard times and I don’t know what I would do without them. From class , I have really been thinking about how some of the quotes said something along the lines of “practicing grace is healing”. So I have made sure to tell my mom and my dad how thankful I am of them, for their never ending support. Also from class, I realize that to heal and to be whole is recognizing the problem and moving forward and not dwelling on the past or staying in a bad frame of mind.

So for the past couple weeks I have been practicing grace and not complaining as much. I have been using some of the practices from the readings such as from the four part check in, the author recommends, “when a strong feeling comes up, rather than pushing it away, see where you feel it in your body”(Practice: Four Part Check In). This has really helped me because when that happens I usually feel it in my stomach or gut and it has been making me feel pretty sick lately.

But I know that I can make myself feel better by doing tasks that come my way immediately instead of waiting, I like the quote from last weeks reading when the author wrote “My lazier thinking evolved from counterproductive commiserating to reflexive systems thinking”.(How I went 21 days without complaining). So basically for me to be less stressed I have to stop pushing things off until the last minute and that will help me not complain as much so that I feel better and can stay focused for my classes.

Leave a Reply

