Gratitude and Grace

Written by Athena Wilkinson, WLLC 2015-2016

 

Recently, especially within the past few days, either from Wellness assignments or just with who has been in my life, the thought of gratitude has been very present. As the “Counting Blessings Versus Burdens” article states: “Although a variety of life experiences can elicit feeling of gratitude, prototypically gratitude stems from the perception of a positive personal outcome, not necessarily deserved or earned, that is due to the actions of another person.” To break this quotation down, gratitude is most felt Untitled.pngwhen others do actions that give you a “positive personal outcome”, but personally I feel that it is especially when another does something kind or especially considerate for you, even if that is simply just being in your life and being there for you as a friend. I have been so blessed with so many wonderful people and friends in my life, who have always been there for me in times of trouble, but recently I have found that I haven’t been there as much for some of my friends, and it’s time to change that. And with that realization I became so much more grateful for their friendship and what they have done for me daily. They also bring aspects of grace to my life, like grace notes in a classical piece of music: “The sonata carries along, but oh what a difference it makes when I am able to add in the grace notes, which season the piece like savory spices”(What’s So Amazing About Grace). Without these friends, my life would move on and I would still have some great opportunities, but they really make my life bright, lively, full, and happy. And from the sheet of various definitions of grace, one that really stuck out to me was the following: “Grace is Friendship: Grace is friendship to self, to others…A friend gives you a glimpse to the creative and loving spirit of the universe. A friend reminds you that love is the essential nature of being. Yet to have a friend, you must be a friend. And the truest friends are true to themselves” (Finding Grace In Life). The concept of grace can be complicated, but my friends are my grace in my life. They carry me forward and lead me to gratitude and happiness. I hope I never again forget to be grateful of any parts of grace in my life. After all, as Ram Dass said: “We’re all just walking each other home.”

Untitled.png

Leave a Reply

