What Grace Means to Me

Written by Sarah Thomas, WLLC 2015-2016

Grace is a word I’ve heard many times throughout my life and something I hold very close to my heart. As What’s so Amazing about Grace? states, “The many uses of the word in English convince me that grace is indeed amazing — truly our last best word. It contains the essence of the gospel as a drop of water can contain the image of the sun” (Yancey 13).

One of the beautiful things about grace, as mentioned in class on January 21st, is that it comes in so many unique, varying forms. It encompasses so many sentiments and holds some of the most amazing qualities of man. “Like a vast aquifer, the word underlies our proud civilization, reminding us that good things come not from our own efforts, rather by the grace of God. Even now, despite our secular drift, taproots still stretch toward grace” (Yancey 12). I identify with this because I hold the belief that I don’t control my own destiny. I don’t mean that in the sense that I have no part in making who I am, because I do believe that I should try to be the best person I can be, but I don’t feel as if I do anything alone. Every accomplishment I achieve is in God’s grace. I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t a bit embarrassed to mentioning this option in this day and age. There is a push to believe that we do all things through ourselves, but I find it very comforting to know that I don’t have to. I do find myself fearful that other will view me as weaker or not having confidence in myself, but I do, I guess it is just expressed in a different way.

Grace has led me, made me who I am. I’m not sure I’d be anything without it. To me grace means love, forgiveness, compassion, friendship, all the essential parts of my life and many others lives. In class I enjoy listening to other’s beliefs about grace. For some it represented strength in change, for others it meant more love. I think this is all beautiful. It doesn’t have to have a religious undertone and I surely hope it doesn’t. I think perhaps many of us have resistance to grace because it opens up things we’re ashamed of in ourselves or walls we’ve built, at least I know this is true for me. But when I’ve let grace into my heart, I’ve simply become more of a better version of myself. I haven’t perfected grace in my own life or found out its entire meaning, but I’m glad it’s there and that’s all I really know right now.


Work Cited

Yancey, Philip. What’s so Amazing about Grace? Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 1997. Print.

Leave a Reply

