My Wellness Journey

Written by Brenna Flynn, WLLC 2015-2016

Since I was young, I have struggled a lot with my weight. I remember in seventh grade thinking I was “too fat” to wear a bikini at our end of the year class party at a waterpark, so I ate as minimally as I possible could until I saw about fifteen pounds melt off in one month. Of course, starving yourself leads to negative repercussions, such as gaining the weight right back. This happened to me many times throughout the years. Then, Freshman year of college hit and I struggled with eating healthy dining hall options, I felt so stressed about my schoolwork I didn’t have time to exercise, and I was a bit depressed about not being able to see my family. Quickly, I once again put on weight and I was larger than ever before. However, with help from my Wellness class, I learned ways to lose weight the healthy way.

From the sleep-tracking practice, I learned that sleeping enough is essential to the entirety of my wellbeing. For example, if I’m tired, I’m likely to think caffeine and sugar will help me wake up, and order a super caloric latte. In week four, Dr. Kaycie Grigel told us coffee with caffeine and sugar is definitely not good for our health because it will make our blood sugar rise very quickly, and then we will experience a huge drop in blood sugar by the time the day is over, which can cause weight gain. Therefore, sleeping enough is essential to weight loss. Not only does it help cognitive functioning, it also gives us the energy we need to exercise during the day, which is essential to our physical, emotional, and mental wellbeing.

While Dr. Kaycie Grigel said sleep was essential to our wellness, she also gave us ways to promote our overall wellbeing. For example, she said that it is important for us to eat five times a day to ensure our blood sugar levels do not drop too much. Also, she recommended supplementing our bodies with fruits, vegetables, and protein when we eat. I also learned of ways that herbs can promote digestion and speed up metabolism through one of the class readings, titled “Herbs with Rosallee.” For example, I learned that “ginger is one of our best herbs for digestion.” The website also states that coffee, when drunk moderately and without additives, “stimulates the release of gastric enzymes, which are an important factor in the digestive process” and “increases peristalsis, the natural movement of the colon.”

This quarter, I have learned about and applied ways to promote my physical wellbeing. Through what we learned about sleeping, I have tried my best to go to bed early, and from what we learned from Dr. Kaycie Grigel, I have been trying to eat more, healthy things. Through this, I have seen results from both the number on the scale and the way I feel better and more energetic.

Leave a Reply

