Smoothies and Spain

Written by Cassidy Knipp, WLLC 2015-2016

Wow. My freshman year is almost over, and I have no idea what has even happened. It all went by so quickly; I feel like I had zero time to actually process what happened. Summer is coming up, and of course I am super excited, but at the same time, I am a little scared of being home alone and not having any of my great friends from DU constantly surrounding me. The alone time will be nice, but how alone is too alone. I am not “looking for someone or something that [I] feel [I] need in order to feel secure or happy” (Brenner), but I am also not totally opposed to meeting some awesome new friends this summer either.

A lot of personal growth comes from learning (Ann), and this summer I will be learning a new skill—how to make smoothies. I am really looking forward to this aspect of my summer. I will also be traveling to Spain this summer for a month and staying with a host family. This will be such an amazing experience for me and I am so excited to see how much my Spanish will improve. Different cultures can teach us a lot too. Here in America, we are very much career and individually focused; whereas, in other cultures there is a “sense of community and strong family values” (Mental Health).

Being home will be a really nice time to catch up with family too, and perhaps “communication with family members may improve” (Miranda). This year has been crazy, and I am excited to see what the next chapter of my life will be like. I am so grateful for the experiences I have had this year.


Citations

Ann, Dorris. “What Is Personal Growth & Development?” Subscribe to Self Esteem. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

Brenner, Abigail. “The Importance of Being Alone.” Psychology Today. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Apr.2016.

“Mental Health: Ethnic Minority Carers’ Experiences.” What Different Cultures Can Teach Us. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

Miranda, Andrea. “The Importance Of Family Bonding Time.” CBS Houston. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

